lucky I am

Rippling folds of velvet colour slipped gently into the night. And as the sun set, layering the edges of the day, she danced. She saw her life flash before her eyes, saw herself there, dancing her fears away ~ years later. A little old lady with white hair, fragile bones, skin too big for her shrinking frame. She saw her future self, converged with her current self, in one moment where everything stood still. I watched as she stared out at the blanket of darkness that fell from above, flecked with specks of brilliant gold. She danced alone, for in essence, we always are.

It’s a misconception to think that time is on our side. Even the longest hour, of the longest day ends eventually. Don’t be fooled. She did everything her heart desired. There is always time for that, perhaps time for that only. We are not immortal. Our lives have an end date. No matter who we are. No matter our age. No matter what, every beginning ends.

What would the future you tell today’s you? If you were sitting on the edge of your last days ~ what would you want to feel? What would you want to take with you? What would be most important? Rest assured, that day will come – you just may not know when it has arrived. You may get a warning. You may not. Maybe we have to face the darkest corners of ourselves, to really see the light. Maybe there isn’t a second to spare…

The milk swirled the other way. Caramel streams of golden honey filled the cracks, bending her edges into the malty elixir… of life. Blended into a velvety heaven, so real, yet so temporary. Gone in one insignificant moment. Devoured. Guzzled. Luxury. Guzzled. Gone.

My mind opened.

I had one of those moments today where life slaps you in the face. Hard. I’ve learnt life decides your next lesson and if you aren’t ready to learn it, it will be dished up – over and over – in a different disguise, until you are ready. Some people are destined to sit with that one lesson for the rest of their lives; others struggle through, knowing they can’t move onto the next one, until they resolve the first. Our character isn’t defined by the lessons themselves, but rather how we handle them.

Sometimes we have to redraw our own boundaries and realise what we previously perceived to be real, may be no longer. We cannot expect things to stay the same, even when we desperately wish for them to. Even if we fight to stand still, the world still moves beneath our feet. Whether we struggle or not, we’re moving anyway.

It was in this realisation I understood that we can’t expect others to meet our own standards – those standards are ours, and ours alone. This freed me, eventually. But I had to stop attaching myself to an outcome. Ultimately, it comes down to acceptance. And when I did let go of my expectations, I could look forward. And that did not necessarily mean an ending. It just meant things had evolved while I was clutching desperately at what I knew, wishing it wouldn’t change. But when it did, it was for the better anyway. The gap between what I saw and what was real was pretty damn big. I needed to break the rules. I needed to accept that growth can be awkward and uncomfortable, but if it means your moving, it’s a good thing. Finally I knew that until one really lets go, there is no room for what is needed in their life today. And while all that was going on – I had people reaching out to me, people who needed me and I was so busy reaching for something unattainable, I missed it.

Luckily life gives us second chances. Sometimes.

About a lifetime of lessons

Inspired by life. I love challenges and new experiences. On the brink of an adventure to discover, and rediscover... In the year of my thirtieth birthday I decided to throw in my job, put my money on red and take the gamble of a lifetime... a one way ticket... This blog documents my journey. Feel free to visit whenever you like, comment and follow my travels here :) View all posts by a lifetime of lessons

4 responses to “lucky I am

Got something to say?

The Naturopathic Herbalist

Botanical medicine for the medical student

The Smelly Vagabond

taking you on a fragrant adventure.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Lens Cap

Casual glimpes into mundane suburbia

A Humble Mumble

A Humble Little Mumble

Travellingbag

Taking you there

Draw the Blinds

Creative Writing- Melbourne

Created ~ Create.it

A Wandering Mind

TAKING TO THE OPEN ROAD

Travel Itineraries & Inspiration

this man's journey

Each journey has a story to tell. Each story has the possibility to bring about change, hope, joy, comfort, healing.

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

eeyoretravelblog

Illustrated Writings of a Grey Grumpy Donkey. MUSIC / PHOTOGRAPHY / ILLUSTRATION

Gilliemojo's Blog

Discovering the Secrets of Health and Happiness

To The Soul

Looking through the window

ATMA SEVA

Healing & Education for Humanity

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

A Window Of Wisdom

Whispers from spirit heard with your heart

Sourabh Paul Photography

,because expression never lie.

quite simply

Life as I see it…

the view from my mat

how I experience, practice & teach yoga

cuhullen

A public place to practice

ThePoint

Sunshine Coast Music News

