the three

I am sitting in my room as I write this – in my underwear. I have just washed all my clothes by hand. Refusing to pay the 300 rupee the guesthouse wanted to do my laundry, I chose to spend 10 rupee on a bar of soap instead. I can only do this because I have time. Not so much money, but lots of time. I worked damn hard to buy this time. And now that I have it, I will use it to save me money whenever I can. The simple things soothe the soul.

Today I have been overcome with gratitude. Gratitude for the experiences I have been lucky enough to have, and for the opportunities I have been given. I created many of these opportunities through working hard and making the most of my options. But today I was reminded that had I not been given the most basic ingredients for survival – from birth – I probably would not have had the means to create any of this. What if I had not been given an education, good food, clean water, clothes and somewhere safe to sleep? All of these things we so often take for granted. We think they are a human right. And perhaps they are. But not everyone receives them. It is important to make the most of what we have – but it is also important to be grateful for the things we are given.

I realised today this is why I have been feeling guilty when I see such suffering. Because I was fortunate enough to have been given a good start, when others are not. I do not know what determines the hand we are dealt, but I am most grateful for the one I received.

Today I met a man. He makes a lot of money and was eager to tell me all about it. He is Indian. He speaks very good English. He went to a private school. And he is in Delhi on holiday for four days. Of course he has been to Delhi countless times on business, he says. But this time, he is on holiday. For four days. He wants to talk finance, and business, and about his new Mercedes.

“Four days is a short holiday,” I say.

‘Time equals money,” he replies.

Today I met a woman. She doesn’t make very much money. She is Indian. She works very hard to keep her apartment and send her two children to school. She is a nurse. Her husband works twelve hours a day and travels two hours each way to work. He is gone from 7am until 11pm. This provides them with the most basic necessities. She wants to talk about life, and paint henna tattoos on my hand.

“Do you ever get to take a holiday?” I ask.

“No,” she says,

“Time equals money.”

Today I met a child. She is Indian. She is starving. She grabs my hand at the train station. Not insistently, but ever so gently. She is barefoot. Her skin and hair are dirty. Her eyes are the clearest brown I have ever seen. She doesn’t say anything to me. She can’t speak English. She has not been to school. I give her the little food I have. I wonder what life will be like for her. I know that now, for her, time does not equal money. Time equals a search for the key ingredients for survival. And there is no holiday from that.

Delhi is a city of extremes. There are the incredibly rich, and the incredibly poor. There are few inbetween. It’s estimated at least half of Delhi’s twenty million residents live in the slums.

I know it’s easier to change the channel and turn your back on the disparity. And I don’t have any solutions. It’s the way the world is.

But please just be reminded to be grateful for the hand you were dealt. We all have challenges in our lives. We all have bad days. But it’s so important to keep things in perspective, and to remember how much we do have already in our search for more.

About a lifetime of lessons

Inspired by life. I love challenges and new experiences. On the brink of an adventure to discover, and rediscover... In the year of my thirtieth birthday I decided to throw in my job, put my money on red and take the gamble of a lifetime... a one way ticket... This blog documents my journey. Feel free to visit whenever you like, comment and follow my travels here :) View all posts by a lifetime of lessons

3 responses to “the three

Got something to say?

The Naturopathic Herbalist

Botanical medicine for the medical student

The Smelly Vagabond

taking you on a fragrant adventure.

Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Lens Cap

Casual glimpes into mundane suburbia

A Humble Mumble

A Humble Little Mumble

Travellingbag

Taking you there

Draw the Blinds

Creative Writing- Melbourne

Created ~ Create.it

A Wandering Mind

TAKING TO THE OPEN ROAD

Travel Itineraries & Inspiration

this man's journey

Each journey has a story to tell. Each story has the possibility to bring about change, hope, joy, comfort, healing.

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

eeyoretravelblog

Illustrated Writings of a Grey Grumpy Donkey. MUSIC / PHOTOGRAPHY / ILLUSTRATION

Gilliemojo's Blog

Discovering the Secrets of Health and Happiness

To The Soul

Looking through the window

ATMA SEVA

Healing & Education for Humanity

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

A Window Of Wisdom

Whispers from spirit heard with your heart

Sourabh Paul Photography

,because expression never lie.

quite simply

Life as I see it…

the view from my mat

how I experience, practice & teach yoga

cuhullen

A public place to practice

