the journey within

After two months on the road I have begun to shift my focus to a journey of a different kind: the journey within.

Some people like to travel to many places, tick things off an ever-growing list and head home with an album of photos to remind them of sights, sounds, tastes and experiences. This trip, for me, may have begun that way, but it is now taking a different turn.

I am beginning to learn about life in a whole new way: the way of the East. I’m opening myself up to it, and its underpinning philosophy, through yoga.

For although there are many, many things I am grateful for in my life in the West, it is the philosophy, religion and spirituality of the East that I feel for me, is key. I want to stop this elusive search for more (filling the void), slow things down, stop doing things because it’s just what you do, and make a change.

It comes back to having appreciation for small things, taking time, and learning how to find what we are looking for – within – rather than through retail therapy, booze, new gadgets, quick fixes and the like.

So day one of my month long intensive course begins. I am excited about stepping back from the influx of external challenges, and shifting my focus.

I am dedicating this month to simply being.

It will consist of early starts (hopefully beginning with a hot shower) followed by meditation, pranayama, ashtanga yoga, breakfast, philosophy, lunch, anatomy, hatha yoga, meditation and dinner.

Sounds extreme? Perhaps. But perhaps we could all benefit from stepping up and making changes in our world. It’s tough. But how do you know what’s on the otherside, unless you push your boundaries?

So after two months of indulging, it’s time to apply some discipline. A clean diet, study, physical activity (four hours a day minimum) and no more lazy cigarettes. That’s the aim. Not only is it the aim but instead of viewing it as taking things away from myself, I am viewing it as giving things to myself.

This shift in my life is considerable. I am hoping to find ways to calm the mind chatter that has become a very real part of my everyday, up until now. And I am hoping to find the stillness I have been searching for, within. Or at least scrape the surface.

I have asked questions, and searched for answers. I have searched high, and dug low. I have travelled to many places in my life, only to return home with the same restless feeling that initially drove me to leave.

So I’m taking some responsibility now, for me, and for my own happiness. For if there is one thing I have learnt, it is that you cannot expect other people to make you happy. You are responsible for your own growth, your own experiences, how you perceive the world, and ultimately your own happiness.

If something is not right for you, if you are finding yourself struggling through your day, complaining or wishing things were different – only you can change it.

And that’s what I have come here to do.

About a lifetime of lessons

Inspired by life. I love challenges and new experiences. On the brink of an adventure to discover, and rediscover... In the year of my thirtieth birthday I decided to throw in my job, put my money on red and take the gamble of a lifetime... a one way ticket... This blog documents my journey. Feel free to visit whenever you like, comment and follow my travels here :) View all posts by a lifetime of lessons

11 responses to “the journey within

Got something to say?

The Naturopathic Herbalist

Botanical medicine for the medical student

The Smelly Vagabond

taking you on a fragrant adventure.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Lens Cap

Casual glimpes into mundane suburbia

A Humble Mumble

A Humble Little Mumble

Travellingbag

Taking you there

Draw the Blinds

Creative Writing- Melbourne

Created ~ Create.it

A Wandering Mind

TAKING TO THE OPEN ROAD

Travel Itineraries & Inspiration

this man's journey

Each journey has a story to tell. Each story has the possibility to bring about change, hope, joy, comfort, healing.

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

eeyoretravelblog

Illustrated Writings of a Grey Grumpy Donkey. MUSIC / PHOTOGRAPHY / ILLUSTRATION

Gilliemojo's Blog

Discovering the Secrets of Health and Happiness

To The Soul

Looking through the window

ATMA SEVA

Healing & Education for Humanity

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

A Window Of Wisdom

Whispers from spirit heard with your heart

Sourabh Paul Photography

,because expression never lie.

quite simply

Life as I see it…

the view from my mat

how I experience, practice & teach yoga

cuhullen

A public place to practice

ThePoint

Sunshine Coast Music News

