like the wind

like the wind...

like the wind…

The wind tunnelled warmly through jilted streets. It gushed and threw itself forward, as it came and touched and went. And a red sun set over concrete pillars of mock stability, setting loose golden hues on a city of grey.

Metal things clinked, and engines roared. People spoke and laughed in languages I did not understand. Smells assaulted my nose – sweet and sour, pungent then putrid. Old men staggered by, all smiles and sadness.

There was no escape. I love the jungle, concrete and all, but sometimes it gets a little wild inside.

I remembered green fields, and fresh air, and the way space could just open up, and let you in, carrying you with it for miles, and miles.

And I remembered familiar voices, favourite places and friendly smiles and the way the summer breeze tumbled and tamed. I remembered things I had forgotten long ago. I don’t know why, but they came back to remind me…

There are aspects of my past I have never been able to look fair in the eye. Mistakes I made, that I never quite forgave myself for. Perhaps we all silently carry a few things like that with us, things we don’t share so often, or things we aren’t proud of.

It was on that day, the day where the wind rolled by, that I spent hours watching a city I thought I knew. And on that day I saw the same city in a different light, from a different angle, and I realised I didn’t know it at all.

It’s the same with people, I think. We can look at someone for years, and think we know who they are, but often what we see is what we choose to see. Sometimes it takes a very long time to see that person for who they really are. And it usually means letting go of the person we think they are. Sometimes we box someone up, confining them to our own limited definition, when they should always be free – free to be, and free to become…

It’s much the same with the way we view ourselves. We can spend our whole lives watching ourselves through the same eyes. We may think we simply are a certain way, that it’s in our nature and we are incapable of changing. And from that viewpoint, we often don’t notice that we actually have changed. We don’t notice because we are stuck living within a set of restrictions we placed upon ourselves a long time ago. It can take some time to realise we aren’t that person at all anymore. And it often isn’t until we step back and see ourselves through new eyes, that we really begin to see at all.

We are eternally changing, growing and shifting into something else.

We are all fluid, and ever-changeable. There is great beauty in that. We have the freedom to decide what we want to be, in any given moment. Our past plummets us forward, into a moment, which is always this moment. And in this moment, we are not what we were before. This is the moment we arrived for. And this moment always comes like the wind, spins us around, and goes again.

About a lifetime of lessons

Inspired by life. I love challenges and new experiences. On the brink of an adventure to discover, and rediscover... In the year of my thirtieth birthday I decided to throw in my job, put my money on red and take the gamble of a lifetime... a one way ticket... This blog documents my journey. Feel free to visit whenever you like, comment and follow my travels here :) View all posts by a lifetime of lessons

3 responses to “like the wind

Got something to say?

The Naturopathic Herbalist

Botanical medicine for the medical student

The Smelly Vagabond

taking you on a fragrant adventure.

Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Lens Cap

Casual glimpes into mundane suburbia

A Humble Mumble

A Humble Little Mumble

Travellingbag

Taking you there

Draw the Blinds

Creative Writing- Melbourne

Created ~ Create.it

A Wandering Mind

TAKING TO THE OPEN ROAD

Travel Itineraries & Inspiration

this man's journey

Each journey has a story to tell. Each story has the possibility to bring about change, hope, joy, comfort, healing.

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

eeyoretravelblog

Illustrated Writings of a Grey Grumpy Donkey. MUSIC / PHOTOGRAPHY / ILLUSTRATION

Gilliemojo's Blog

Discovering the Secrets of Health and Happiness

To The Soul

Looking through the window

ATMA SEVA

Healing & Education for Humanity

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

A Window Of Wisdom

Whispers from spirit heard with your heart

Sourabh Paul Photography

,because expression never lie.

quite simply

Life as I see it…

the view from my mat

how I experience, practice & teach yoga

cuhullen

A public place to practice

