new beginnings

Do you ever get the feeling you are exactly where you are meant to be? That feeling filled me up the minute I fell into the chaos of Tribhuvan Airport in Kathmandu. Sweet, disorganised chaos.

I smiled my way through. It’s my way. And when I really like a place, it seems to be the kind of place where smiles work. They work almost like an unspoken currency – the people love it, I love them and suddenly they are happy, and I am happy. I haven’t wiped the smile off my face since I arrived.

But I know this place is going to tear me down. I know it’s going to break me, before it makes me. This place holds a challenge I have set that is unprecedented for me. A challenge that reflects new beginnings, a way forward and the notion that the hard work, will be worth it. It is about working with myself, and for myself. It is about helping myself get to where I want to be. It is about not knocking myself back, or doing things to sabotage my own progress – in my journey, in my relationships, in my life. It is a new chapter. It is about growing up and walking a path I began seven months ago. This for me is a personal pilgrimage of sorts. It represents many things. But most importantly, it represents a way forward into the unknown.

In two days I begin the Annapurna Base Camp trek. I don’t know if I am being adventurous or just plain stupid. I’m optimistic. I’m looking forward to getting out into the mountains, and to being in the thick of nature – it’s one of my favourite things. But I keep getting these little flashbacks of almost dying when I climbed Adam’s Peak in Sri Lanka a few months ago.

And as with every new beginning, I’m scared to commit to it. Especially in such a public space, because I don’t know how it’s going to end yet. I want to think that in two weeks time I’ll be writing some inspirational post about pushing through the hardest aspects of myself and getting to the other side. But the reality is, I may have overcommitted here. I may not make it.

If I do, I feel it will be proof to myself I can do anything. Perhaps any of us really are capable of achieving dreams, or climbing new mountains, if we put our mind to it. Perhaps.

 

About a lifetime of lessons

Inspired by life. I love challenges and new experiences. On the brink of an adventure to discover, and rediscover... In the year of my thirtieth birthday I decided to throw in my job, put my money on red and take the gamble of a lifetime... a one way ticket... This blog documents my journey. Feel free to visit whenever you like, comment and follow my travels here :) View all posts by a lifetime of lessons

10 responses to “new beginnings

  • Sandy Gillis

    You’ll do very well missy, I know it. Fearless and brave. Onwards and upwards. I look forward to reading your next inspirational post. PS You’ve captured the Aboriginal flag!

  • Huw Thomas

    Hope you’re good with altitude. Don’t forget that Kathmandu is at 1,400m above sea level – so almost two-thirds of the height of Adam’s Peak. The base camp is at 4,130m so take plenty of time getting there!
    Good luck and enjoy. It’s a wonderful part of the world.

    • a lifetime of lessons

      Thanks Huw ~ I hope I am good with altitude too/ I am about to find out 😉 Nepal is so beautiful, and I haven’t seen the best of it yet. This one will be slow and steady. Thanks so much for your well wishes =)

  • travellingbag

    I understand what you’re saying here. 9 months ago I booked to trek to Everest Base Camp, in 8 weeks I fly into Kathmandu. I’m turning 60 this year so whether this is a new beginning or a culmination of my life experiences, who knows – but I am determined to succeed. Lovely to read your account 🙂

    • a lifetime of lessons

      Oh wow! Goodluck x Kathmandu is an interesting city – some pockets are truly beautiful and it isn’t all crazy and chaos 😉 we fly out tomorrow morning – I’m excited and terrified all at once. But it’s just one step at a time on this journey, the destination although grand is only the icing on the cake/ thanks for your comment and sharing my post! I’ll be back in a few weeks with an update 🙂

  • travellingbag

    Reblogged this on travelling bag and commented:
    This post, over on a lifetime of lessons, just spoke to me and I wanted to share it with you all.

  • Andrew Petcher

    Good luck with this – I am looking forward to reading about it!

  • lrtaylor85

    Hey Ame,
    I love this! I love you:)! I watched a movie yesterday called ‘Kathmandu Lullaby’ it’s a new movie based on a true story about a journey of discovery… It was inspired by the novel (same name I believe) by Victoria Subirana. It was an awesome film.. Beautiful I really liked it:)… Mostly because the whole time i was watching it I was thinking about you. I re-read Mickey and was thinking about the different children you would be meeting in all the different places. It gave me a sense of you that is alike me and I know that you would be touching hearts everywhere you go. The footage on the film was amazing and I could see you there. I hope you are going very well on the trek 🙂 I know you will be! I miss you very much. x

Got something to say?

The Naturopathic Herbalist

Botanical medicine for the medical student

The Smelly Vagabond

taking you on a fragrant adventure.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Lens Cap

Casual glimpes into mundane suburbia

A Humble Mumble

A Humble Little Mumble

Travellingbag

Taking you there

Draw the Blinds

Creative Writing- Melbourne

Created ~ Create.it

A Wandering Mind

TAKING TO THE OPEN ROAD

Travel Itineraries & Inspiration

this man's journey

Each journey has a story to tell. Each story has the possibility to bring about change, hope, joy, comfort, healing.

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

eeyoretravelblog

Illustrated Writings of a Grey Grumpy Donkey. MUSIC / PHOTOGRAPHY / ILLUSTRATION

Gilliemojo's Blog

Discovering the Secrets of Health and Happiness

To The Soul

Looking through the window

ATMA SEVA

Healing & Education for Humanity

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

A Window Of Wisdom

Whispers from spirit heard with your heart

Sourabh Paul Photography

,because expression never lie.

quite simply

Life as I see it…

the view from my mat

how I experience, practice & teach yoga

cuhullen

A public place to practice

ThePoint

Sunshine Coast Music News

