turn it around

Take a chance. 

So we spent all these years, building walls between us, and our flaws. And we thought we were building them for protection, but they have become our own personal prisons.

Insulation – between us and the outside/ Liberation – we are longing to find.

And we try to explain through jumbled refrain, but instead of searching for solutions, we make the problems our game.

Confusion abounds, but still we do as we’ve done. Weariness compounds, but still we run.

There are a thousand reasons we can’t if we want there to be. And there are a thousand reasons we can if we are ready.

Our story is written by the eyes through which we see. But our emotions, and our ego, often make us think it can’t be.

We get what we give.

We feel negative/ we live negative ~ we live negative/ we feel negative.

Turn it around.

Governed by rulers in far off lands. Governed by what we imagine we should do, what we should plan.

Those fears that become our chains, they can also free us, and smash the walls we made…

Walk into them, rather than away. Walk through them, in full colour, instead of grey.

They will be our teachers, if we are brave enough to change. They will be the very reasons, to embrace the mistakes we made.

Step into the wild. Let it all go. Go someplace you’ve never been before. Accept that you may never know.

Risk. Risk for love. Risk for life. Risk making a fool. Risk in the darkest hour, of the night.

Believe.

Seek, and you will find. Perhaps not what you thought you needed, or wanted, but you will – find.

Smash out those fears, and start something new. Today, make a commitment, to you.

About a lifetime of lessons

Inspired by life. I love challenges and new experiences. On the brink of an adventure to discover, and rediscover... In the year of my thirtieth birthday I decided to throw in my job, put my money on red and take the gamble of a lifetime... a one way ticket... This blog documents my journey. Feel free to visit whenever you like, comment and follow my travels here :) View all posts by a lifetime of lessons

3 responses to “turn it around

  • Redneck Garage

    Wow!!! Great thoughts and a fantastic challenge. There are so many experiences that we each have that can imprison us if we make that choice. For many years the album The Wall (Pink Floyd) was one that I could relate too due to my experience in high school…which happens to be when the album came out. In the end the wall is torn down.

    For many years I have built a wall around my emotions. Many who know me well now referrer to me as stoic. My wall is complete. But it is slowly coming down as I share my experiences, like this feedback, and my own thoughts through my blog.

    Thanks for taking the time to share this insight.

    • a lifetime of lessons

      Yes – it’s hard work building that wall. Equally hard is tearing it down. It took me a lot of years to realise I wasn’t protecting myself at all – rather confining myself to four walls.

      It’s great to share, and I think in doing so we can evolve further along our own path. I’m grateful you stopped by, and left your thoughts here – it’s nice to know others are walking similar paths and understand the challenges we face 🙂

      Good luck!

      • Redneck Garage

        I’m beginning to see that there are many people who use their blog as a way to work through their experiences in life, both good and bad. They then take the time to share the outcome with the hope of helping someone else who is, or who has, walked the same path (the name of my blog is a little miss leading…there are way more post on life then the garage). That is how your blog post caught my attention. I’m in the middle of accepting a new normal in my life which requires a bit of remodeling (tearing out walls). I appreciate your stepping out to seek those who could relate. Your observation that one does not always find what they are seeking is true but in the process they hopefully find the answer to their quest that helps. I look forward to hearing about more of your life experiences!

Got something to say?

The Naturopathic Herbalist

Botanical medicine for the medical student

The Smelly Vagabond

taking you on a fragrant adventure.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Lens Cap

Casual glimpes into mundane suburbia

A Humble Mumble

A Humble Little Mumble

Travellingbag

Taking you there

Draw the Blinds

Creative Writing- Melbourne

Created ~ Create.it

A Wandering Mind

TAKING TO THE OPEN ROAD

Travel Itineraries & Inspiration

this man's journey

Each journey has a story to tell. Each story has the possibility to bring about change, hope, joy, comfort, healing.

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

eeyoretravelblog

Illustrated Writings of a Grey Grumpy Donkey. MUSIC / PHOTOGRAPHY / ILLUSTRATION

Gilliemojo's Blog

Discovering the Secrets of Health and Happiness

To The Soul

Looking through the window

ATMA SEVA

Healing & Education for Humanity

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

A Window Of Wisdom

Whispers from spirit heard with your heart

Sourabh Paul Photography

,because expression never lie.

quite simply

Life as I see it…

the view from my mat

how I experience, practice & teach yoga

cuhullen

A public place to practice

ThePoint

Sunshine Coast Music News

